Friday, October 30, 2015

Professor and Director Charles Connerly is one of two faculty who recently received the Michael J. Brody Award for Faculty Excellence in Service to the University and the State of Iowa. The award is given to tenured faculty whose service stands out as an exceptionally effective contribution to the University or its external constituencies. The service must have occurred over several years and have been performed in the capacity of a faculty member.

The University of Iowa online publication, IowaNow, included this information about Professor Connerly’s service.

“Connerly is a professor of urban and regional planning in the Graduate College. In 2009 he founded the Iowa Initiative for Sustainable Communities (IISC), which has given students the opportunity to work directly with more than a dozen Iowa communities to advance sustainability across the state. The partnerships forged through the IISC have also opened doors to engagement for many other units across the university. Connerly has served a number of key roles for the Association of Collegiate Schools of Planning (ACSP) and on the editorial board of several journals in the field.  He served a five-year term on the Executive Committee of ACSP, including two years as president.  For two years he co-directed the Obermann Graduate Institute on Public Engagement and the Academy, and he currently serves on the Obermann Advisory Board.  He has served on the executive committee of the UI Public Policy Center since 2008.”

Professor Connerly was nominated by Pete Damiano and the Graduate College, with approval from the Faculty Senate. The Brody Award was presented to him at a recent faculty and staff award ceremony by Provost Barry Butler, Associate Provost Kevin Kregel, and Faculty Senate President Christina Bohannan.