Thursday, June 28, 2018

The Hazard Mitigation/Disaster Recovery Planning Division of the Association of State Floodplain Managers (ASFPM) has announced that the James (Jim) Schwab, was awarded the Goddard-White Award for national impact to floodplain management by the ASFPM. Jim is a UI School of Urban and Regional Planning alum and adjunct lecturer, as well as the ASFPM Chair-Elect. This rare honor was announced at an award luncheon on June 21, during the ASFPM annual conference, held this year in Phoenix, Arizona.

According to the ASFPM website, "The Goddard-White Award is named in honor of the contributions made to floodplain management by Gilbert White (1911- 2006) and Jim Goddard (1906-1994). This award is given by ASFPM to individuals who have had a national impact carrying forward the goals and objectives of floodplain management. It is an indication of the level of esteem the association holds for the two namesakes as well as the recipients, and is ASFPM's highest award. It is not necessarily presented every year."

Jim joins a list of nationally-recognized advocates for hazard mitigation and disaster recovery that includes Jon Kusler, Executive Director of the Association of State Wetland Managers; French Wetmore, co-author of FEMA's Community Rating System; Mary Fran Meyers, former co-director of the Natural Hazards Center; and the late Margaret Davidson, Director of NOAA's Coastal Services Center (now the Office for Coastal Management).

The Association of State Floodplain Managers is an organization of professionals involved in floodplain management, flood hazard mitigation, National Flood Insurance Program, and flood preparedness, warning and recovery. ASFPM is a respected voice in floodplain management practice and policy in the United States because it represents flood hazard specialists of local, state and federal government, research community, insurance industry and the fields of engineering, hydrologic forecasting, emergency response, water resources and others.

In the photo, left to right, are: Larry Larson, ASFPM Director Emeritus/Senior Policy Advisor; Maria Cox Lamm, ASFPM President and NFIP Coordinator for South Carolina; James Schwab; and Ingrid Wadsworth, ASFPM Deputy Director.